Posted by: Larry Hoekman | February 23, 2012

Famous ‘buts’ of the Bible – Don’t look back!

876:  Adoption update:  This week is a crucial time, as the Embassy investigator will be confirming the adoption or sending it to another city for more research.  Let’s pray that Bronson gets cleared in the next 10 days! I added a link to their blog from Ethiopia – follow their days!

Scripture:  At dawn the next morning, the angels urged Lot, “Hurry,” they said to him. “Take your wife and your two daughters who are here, or you will be swept away when the city is punished.”  When he hesitated, the angels grasped his hand and the hands of his wife and daughters and rushed them safely out of the city, for the Lord was merciful to them.  As soon as they were brought out , one of the angels said, “Flee for your lives!  Do not stop anywhere in the valley.  And don’t look back!  Escape to the mountains or you will be swept away!”  But Lot’s wife looked back, and she became a pillar of salt. Genesis 19:15-17; 26     It is not that I’ve already attained these things or that I’ve already achieved perfection, but I press on toward the day when I will finally be all that Christ Jesus saved me for and wants me to be!  Philippians 3:13b,14

Thoughts/questions:  So much went into the story of Lot, one would think that his escaping group would certainly follow all of the directives of the angels without question!  But Lot’s wife did not. Paul also had quite a story regarding his life, but he chose to look forward and ‘press on’!

Our lives are also complex; our stories are unique. The past has shaped us all in distinct ways and we should all learn from our history, but we should not look back when God tells us not to!  Certain things are to be left behind!

Are you looking back and holding on to something you know should be part of your history, NOT your present?  Is God asking you to let go; forget what lies behind; stop looking back; but to look forward and press on? If so, make today the day which you choose to never more look back!

Suggested prayer:  Father God, I choose to no longer look back at people, events, and circumstances that take me away from You.  Help me to remove them and to never look back again . . .

Memory verse:  But Lot’s wife looked back.  Genesis 19:26a 


Responses

  1. Looking back is something I do much too often ,and it can keep me from the things I have overcome and good things He is doing in me right now!
    amote

  2. Hi Larry, Thanks for putting the link in for Ethiopia. Terry and I are praying daily for God to open the door to quick resolution. Paul

  3. thanks, larry….good thoughts abut NOT looking back…since a favorite exchange student (the only one who became a christian) called me in january about more than 2 years, i find myself going back…and earlier

    this week i decided NOT to do that and close communication with him by email..thanks for the confirmation about what i CHOOSE to do…when

    he is walking with the LORD again and ACTING in love, he’ll treat me
    better..

    until then, i don’t need him in my life!

    i also loved how you mentioned..”choosing to stop looking back…AT ANYTHING THATY TAKES ME AWAY FROM YOU (LORD)..

    :)tricia (and pete)


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 46 other followers

