Posted by: Larry Hoekman | November 24, 2013

Proverbs 28:23-28 – Follow your heart?

Day 2393: Our reflection of the character of God should be – Love, Joy, Peace, Patience, Kindness, Goodness, Faithfulness, Gentleness and Self-control – How are you doing???

Scripture:  In the end, if I rebuke someone, I will gain more favor than just flattering them.  If I were to rob my parents and say, “It’s not wrong” – it would be just like being a companion of those who destroy.  Arrogant people stir up dissension, but by trusting the Lord, I will prosper.  I am behaving foolishly when I trust my own heart, but when I walk in wisdom, I will be safe.  By giving to the poor, I will lack nothing, but a curse will be upon me if I close my eyes to poverty.  When the wicked rise to power, people hide; but when the wicked perish, righteous people increase.  Proverbs 28:23-28

Thoughts/questions:  ‘Follow your heart’ – advice we may have heeded, given, or both.  Does Proverbs contradict that adage?  Yes and no.  The unregenerate human heart is called desperately wicked in Jeremiah 17:9 and we should NOT follow that heart.  But the same heart which has become new and loves God completely as in Mark 12:28-30 IS a wise heart we can and should follow.  Don’t trust a selfish heart, but pray each day for God to create in you a clean heart and then ‘follow that heart!’

The last verse is repeated twice in Proverbs 28 and so must be important.  At first glance, I was going to apply it to the USA and its political climate.  However, upon deeper reflection, I considered the Christ followers who truly are forced to hide under wicked (against Jehovah God) regimes.  Iraq, Syria, North Korea, Iran and many other countries force Christ followers to worship in hiding, to hide their faith, to hide their Bible.  Most of us cannot relate to extreme persecution and having to hide.  For more information on the persecuted church, go to www.opendoorsusa.org.  Be sure to pray for our brothers and sisters in hiding!!!

Suggested Prayer:  Lord, give those who are persecuted for their belief in You a full measure of Your grace today and every day . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

