Posted by: Larry Hoekman | August 15, 2014

Daily Readings – What am I singing?

Day 1781: We don’t live in the past or future, so make sure you live in the present!

Scripture: Sing praises to God, sing praises Sing praises to our King, sing praises! For God is the King of all the earth; sing praises with understanding. Psalm 47:6, 7

Thoughts/questions: A long time ago, I sang and knew the lyrics to Bob Dylan’s Everyone Must Get Stoned! I sang it with gusto, but the actual words meant nothing to me, and I have yet to get stoned.

God doesn’t want our praises to be empty words lacking understanding. We are to sing, sing, sing His praises; however, not like I sang out about getting stoned. We are to KNOW what we are singing and what those words mean!

Do you mean what you sing or is it merely an emotional expression? Do you ‘practice what you sing’ or just sing? Next time (and every time) you are worshipping and singing God’s praises, make sure your mind is engaged and you fully understand the words you are singing! No empty words, but sing praises with understanding!

Suggested prayer: Lord God, help me to mean what I say and mean what I sing . . .

Responses

  1. Worship songs are one of my favorite ways of feeling His closeness. He comforts me in the ups and downs…in song…
    Great going my Lar..xoxamote


Leave a Reply

Categories

