Posted by: Larry Hoekman | August 25, 2014

Daily Readings – Praise?!

Day 1791: Continuing Psalms one day at a time!

Scripture: I will praise You, O Lord, among the peoples; I will sing to You among the nations. For Your mercy reaches unto the heavens, and Your truth unto the clouds. Be exalted, O God, above the heavens; let Your glory be over all the earth. Psalm 57:9-11

Thoughts/questions: The praise song derived from these verses has always been one of my favorites! I would so love to be able to put together words of praise like these.

My attempts at praise often end up more like a list of things I’m thankful for. Simple statements regarding the awesomeness of our God don’t roll freely from my lips or pen.

Praise – positively recognizing the characteristics God has already displayed. Sounds easy but I don’t think I spend the time necessary to consider all of who God is and then merely verbalize it. It’s time for me to think and meditate a bit first, then start to pray. I think the praises will begin to flow! Join me!

Suggested prayer: Lord God, You are an awesome God, a magnificent Creator, a wonderful friend, a God above all gods, and Your grace is unmatched . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

