Posted by: Larry Hoekman | September 4, 2014

Daily Readings – I Don’t Want to Hear it?

Day 1801: Continuing through the Psalms!

Scripture: If I regard iniquity in my heart, the Lord will not hear. But certainly God has heard me; He has attended to the voice of my prayer. Blessed be God, who has not turned away my prayer, nor His mercy from me!  Psalm 66:18-20

Thoughts/questions: When someone makes continual promises they don’t keep and come up with excuses every time, eventually our response is, “I don’t want to hear it anymore!” Does God react in a similar fashion.

The Psalmist states, “If I regard iniquity in my heart” representing us willfully choosing to go against something we KNOW we shouldn’t be doing or not doing what we should be doing. When we choose self over God and then come to Him in prayer, will He respond to that prayer?

A no answer is a definite possibility. We all must search our hearts and be straight with God, as our imperfection must not be willful. We want to say with the Psalmist, “but certainly God has heard me” so may we never regard iniquity in our hearts!

Suggested prayer: Sovereign Lord, may my heart always desire to be obedient to all You have for me . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

