Posted by: Larry Hoekman | October 9, 2014

Daily Readings – The importance of home!

Day 1837: Jesus is worthy!!!

Scripture: I will sing of lovingkindness and justice, to You, O Lord, I will sing praises.  I will walk within my house in the integrity of my heart.  Psalm 101:1, 2c

Thoughts/questions: Home is where the ______ is. Ideally, the word ‘heart’ is appropriately inserted. In reality, almost anything could be put there. Words like hypocrite, anger, drunk, silence, yelling, disunity, condescension, etc. are too often filling the blank.

As a Christ follower, words like unconditional love, consistency, comfort, peace, joy, laughter, hope, patience, etc. should be appropriate insertions. But too often home is where we ‘let our hair hang down’ and where we ‘can be ourselves’.

Instead, home is where we should be on our BEST behavior! Do the opinions of others actually matter more than those of our family. If we behave better towards strangers than those whom we call family, what does that say about our priorities?

God has placed the MOST important people in our lives within our own home/family. Therefore, His expectation is that we walk within our houses in the integrity of our hearts! 

Suggested prayer: Dear Lord, help me to at my very best when I am with my family . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

