Posted by: Larry Hoekman | October 20, 2014

Daily Readings – Revenge!

Day 1848: Seek first His kingdom!

Scripture: O God of my praise, do not be silent! For they have opened the wicked and deceitful mouth against me. They have spoken against me with a lying tongue. They have also surrounded me with words of hatred and fought against me without cause. In return for my love they act as my accusers, but I am in prayer. Psalm 109:1-4

Thoughts/questions: These verses sound good with David seeking God in prayer regarding his enemies. However, in the remaining 27 verses, he pulled out the voodoo doll re: his enemies and was asking God to stick pin after pin into them!

David sought revenge and doesn’t pull any stops as to the bad things he wanted God to do to them. But Jesus said we are to love our enemies and that we are to let God take whatever revenge is necessary.

Humanly impossible – we are like David. Supernaturally possible – we have Jesus living within us! When you face your enemies, don’t be like David was in this instance – die to self and let Jesus love them through you!

Suggested prayer: Almighty God, I can’t do this without You. Live through me . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

