Posted by: Larry Hoekman | October 22, 2014

Personal Sharing – Oh the ‘Back Story’!

Day 1850: May His love flow through you today!

Scripture: And I know that God causes all things to work together for my good because I love Him, and I am called according to His purpose for me! Romans 8:28 

Thoughts/questions: Imagine yourself writing a novel or short story and you have your hero overcome all odds and become victorious over an overwhelming challenge. To make the climax that much more thrilling, the life of your main character HAD to be filled with difficulties and adversity.

Oh the ‘back story’ – the climax of the story is what we look forward to, but that could have never happened without the appropriate back story!

If God is going to have a miracle or exciting event occur in my life, my ‘back story’ has to be filled with difficulties and challenges as well, and without the appropriate back story, there is no miraculous end.

Oh the ‘back story’ – can I trust God during this part of my story? In your imaginary story, would you want your hero to trust you, the author, to bring all the seemingly unrelated pieces together for their ultimate good? Yes! Can we do the same with our Creator?

Suggested prayer: Lord, my back story is in Your hands – help me to trust You through it . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

