Posted by: Larry Hoekman | November 15, 2014

Daily Readings – Fear Forgiveness?

Day 1874: A perfect post for a Friday TGIF – Thank God I’m Forgiven!

Scripture: If You, Lord, should mark iniquities, O Lord, who could stand? But there is forgiveness with You, that You may be feared. Psalm 130:3, 4

Thoughts/questions: Great verses – 2 thoughts. 1) A contrite heart is spoken about fairly often in the Bible as something God really desires in us. To be contrite is not about simply being sorry, but it is a repentant response to guilt.

We are ALL guilty – whether our sin number is 1 or 1,000,000, any amount results in us not being able to stand before a holy God. but God goes further than merely not keeping track of our iniquities, He FORGIVES! He FORGIVES!! He FORGIVES!!! Thank You Lord and may my heart always be contrite!

2) Are we to ‘fear’ or be afraid of a God who forgives? Hardly! So fear cannot mean being afraid. No, it entails some fear, but mostly awe, honor, respect, and reverence!

Yes Lord, I am in awe of You! I honor You! I totally respect You! I reverence You!

Suggested prayer: Almighty God, I am blessed that I can stand before You in spite of my sin. Thank You for Your forgiveness . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

