Posted by: Larry Hoekman | December 2, 2014

Daily Readings – Desperate for You!

Day 1891: December is a great time to share the ‘real’ meaning of Christmas! Don’t be afraid to tell others what Christmas means to you!

Scripture: How I plead with God; how I implore His mercy; pouring out my troubles before Him. For I am overwhelmed and desperate, and You alone know which way I ought to turn to miss the traps my enemies have set for me. Psalm 142:1-3

Thoughts/questions: All in all, most God2me readers are pretty comfortable and the word desperate is not part of our normal vocabulary. However, the Psalmist reminds us of our real status – overwhelmed and desperate!

Because part of what God gives us is His mercy (we don’t get what we deserve), we tend to forget how important His mercy is and how much we need/depend on it. Without the Lord, we can do nothing! We are spiritually bankrupt, and yes, we ARE desperate for Him!

Stop for a moment; realize your desperation; call out to your merciful Father; He will take care of you; and He will wrap you in His strong, loving arms!

Suggested prayer: Lord God Almighty, I’m lost without You . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

