Posted by: Larry Hoekman | January 7, 2015

God’s Promises – Get what you want?

Day 1927: More promises! (Happy B’day Linda!!! – my wife)

Scripture promise:  When I delight myself in the Lord, He will give me the desires of my heart.  I need to commit my way to the Lord and also trust in Him – then He will do it!  Psalms 37:4,5  

Thoughts/questions:  The Psalmist is referring to our ‘wanter’ (our inner desires) when he uses the words – ‘desires of my heart’ and that God WILL give us these desires in two ways.  1) He instills these desires in our heart and 2) if we are trying to live our lives totally for Him, He makes those desires our reality.

I remember talking with a girl who wasn’t sure what God wanted her to do.  Because of Psalms 37, I asked her what SHE wanted to do.  I then asked if she thought that what she wanted to do was being selfish or was a sin.  She said it wasn’t, so my advice was ‘do what you want’!  She did so, believing that God had put that want/desire in her heart, and it turned out perfectly!

Do what you want!!!!  Initially that sounds selfish and not very spiritual, but if you have a whole heart for God, He will give you the desires of your heart!

Suggested prayer: Lord, help me to walk so closely with You that what I want is what You want . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

