Posted by: Larry Hoekman | January 11, 2015

God’s Promises – My own understanding!

Day 1931: Trust!

Scripture promises:  I should trust in the Lord with all of my heart and not depend on my own understanding of my life.  In all my ways I must acknowledge Him, and He will make my paths straight!  Proverbs 3:5, 6 

Thoughts/questions:  When we finally have our lives all figured out, the hammer falls. This might be a recent job change/loss; a school issue; a relational challenge; or possibly a physical problem.

Our ‘own understanding of my life’ is often so limited.  I remember being in a feedlot tower and there was one very excited pen of cattle. They were running freely and were excitedly making noise and kicking. Known to me but unbeknownst to them, their new found freedom was taking them to the truck headed for the slaughter house.

Likewise, the God of the universe sees our ‘whole picture’ and desires us to acknowledge Him in everything we do..  Webster defines acknowledge as: recognizing the authority of; being in agreement with; expressing gratitude toward; recognizing the validity of.  That kind of covers it, eh?

In everything you do are you ‘acknowledging’ God?

Suggested prayer: Dear God, help me trust You in every detail of my life with all of my heart . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

