Posted by: Larry Hoekman | January 12, 2015

God’s Promises – The peace of God!

Day 1932: A Monday for promises!

Scripture promises:   I am not to worry about anything.  But God desires me to present all of my requests to Him in prayer; asking Him about everything in my life with an attitude of thanksgiving.  When I do that, the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard my heart and my mind in Christ Jesus!  Philippians 4:6, 7

Thoughts/questions:  Peace – a sought for commodity ranging from a world in desperate need of it to the individual struggling to find it.  A movie called The Informant is about the life of Mark Whitacre.  A 90’s whistleblower who went to jail for stealing $9 million.

The movie, similar to Hollywood’s treatment of Unbroken, does not finish the story. This family man was living in a 13,000 sq. ft. house with a full 8 car garage and horse stables and stated “we really had nothing” when everybody else thought he had everything.  While in jail, Whitacre became a Christ follower and looking back reflects, “That’s when I decided that I could not handle it on my own.  That’s when I began relying on God.  After I did that, there was so much PEACE and contentment that came in my life.”

Having peace resulting from relying on God!!!!!  How?  By 1) not worrying; 2) talking to God (prayer) about everything; and 3) being thankful!

Suggested prayer: Lord Jesus, please guard my heart and mind . . . 


Leave a Reply

Categories

