Posted by: Larry Hoekman | January 14, 2015

God’s Promises – Yield much fruit!

Day 1934: A promis to flourish!

Scriptural promise:  God will bless me when I do not follow the ways of the world, or hang around with sinners who mock the things of my Lord.  Instead, I will delight myself in doing what God wants me to do; I will meditate on His word day and night.  Then God will make me like a tree that grows by a constantly flowing river.  I will be like that living tree that yields its fruit, and its leaves do not wither.  In whatever I do, God will prosper my efforts!   Psalms 1:1-4

Thoughts/questions:  You have probably seen a band of trees winding thru a barren area and realized there was a creek or river supplying water to those trees. God promises us to make us like those trees, but unlike them, we aren’t bound by roots and can wander away from our source.

The ways of the world have their fascination and attraction, but eventually lead to a life without eternal meaning.  Why would we choose to move away from God, the living water, and lose the blessings He has to offer?  Walking daily with Him and meditating on His word will enable all of us to keep our spiritual lives flourishing.  Ask yourself ‘where are my roots planted’?  And re-ask that question every time you see that green ribbon of trees,

Suggested prayer: Lord God, help me to become strongly rooted in You . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

