Posted by: Larry Hoekman | January 23, 2015

God’s Promises – His Yoke is Easy!

Day 1923: Teamwork – the very best way! 

Scriptural promises:  He will give me rest.  With His yoke on me, I can learn from Him as He will be gentle and humble with me, and I shall find rest for my soul.  His yoke is easy and His burden is light.  Matthew 11:28b-30

Thoughts/questions:  A yoke is a wooden beam, which connects two oxen that pull together to work a field.

When Jesus refers to having His yoke upon us, a number of things correlate to our walk with Him.  The yoke is for a team; Jesus and you.  The yoke must fit well and be balanced, so Jesus and you must team together as one.

A well-yoked team can accomplish more together than the sum of what they could do individually.  The stronger of the two animals can carry a larger percentage of the load, so who do you think should do that?

When yoked, the individuals lose self-control as they must function as a team.  Today, will you give up control to the One who can give you rest?

Suggested prayer: Lord Jesus, even though I know I can’t do things on my own, I consistently try. Help me to ALWAYS depend on You to carry my load . . .

 


Responses

  1. Thank you Larry. I appreciate your daily words that help me refocus my thoughts back to Him! Hope all is well with you!!!
    Frank


Leave a Reply

Categories

