Posted by: Larry Hoekman | March 29, 2015

Words in Red – Why?

Day 1938:  Remember to pray for Christ followers around the world who are being persecuted and killed for their faith!

Context:  Jesus was continually tested in attempts to trap Him.  This time He was asked whether or not taxes should be paid to Caesar.

Scripture:  Jesus recognized their hypocrisy and said, “Why are you trying to trap me? Bring me a Roman coin and let me look at it.”  When they brought Him the coin, He asked, “Whose likeness and inscription is this?”  “Caesar’s,” they replied.  Then Jesus said to them, “Give to Caesar the things that are Caesar’s and to God the things that are God’s.”  And they were amazed at Him.  Mark 12:15b-17

Thoughts/questions:  ‘Why’ questions!  I learned to ask ‘why’ from observing Chuck Swindoll ask ‘why’ to the hostess when he came in and saw that I was talking with her while waiting for him to come.  He said to her, “I see you know this guy” and she responded, “He was my favorite teacher.”  That is the end of most people’s conversation, but then he asked, “Why?”  Although he and I were meeting for the first time, her answer told him more about herself and me than most people who knew me or her were aware of.  Since then, I always ask why to comments like – I love this or that; that is my favorite whatever; I hate such and such, etc.  This one word question returns volumes of information regarding the values of the responder!

Currently, many Christ followers seem to give way more to Caesar/government than to God.  We already give way more than a tithe in terms of all the taxes we pay, but also, many give more time to politics than God.  They are well read on political issues and are always ready for a political discussion or debate, but struggle reading God’s word and are fearful of talking about their relationship with Him.

Jesus reminds us regarding what our priorities really should be!  Then others will be amazed!!!

Suggested Prayer:  Jesus, help me to live my life so that You never recognize hypocrisy within me . . . 


Leave a Reply

Categories

