Posted by: Larry Hoekman | April 16, 2015

Personal Sharing – God’s heart?

Day 1955: 2015 is flying by as we enter the second half of April already!

Scripture: Then those who escape will remember Me among the nations where they are taken captive. I was hurt by their adulterous hearts, which turned away from Me, and by their eyes, which lusted after idols. They will hate themselves for the evil and disgusting things that they have done. Ezekiel 6:9

Thoughts/questions: We are to have God’s heart! When I hear this I think of putting on a heart of compassion . . .; I Corinthians 13 love; showing mercy and grace; treating widows and orphans well – things like that.

However, if we are to have God’s heart, then we also are to state part of the lyrics of one of my favorite Christian songs: ‘break my heart with what breaks Yours.’

In discussing this with my Bible Study group last night, the consensus seemed to be that what breaks God’s heart is when our hearts refuse to be in relationship with Him. We reject Him; we refuse to listen; we don’t obey; we choose other things (our idols) over Him.

Jesus’ heart broke and He wept over Jerusalem and wept over the reaction to the death of Lazarus. The chosen people’s rejection of Jesus and that sin has caused death to reign broke His heart.

Do I have Jesus’ heart? Is my heart broken because of my sin and the sin of others. Does it even bother me that so many reject Jesus?

My heart is not like His in this area. If the same is true with you, earnestly pray the following.

Suggested prayer: Lord Jesus, my desire is that my heart is broken over the same things that break Your heart . . . Break my heart with what breaks Yours!


Leave a Reply

Categories

