Posted by: Larry Hoekman | April 18, 2015

Words in Red – Thank You!

Day 1957: 1957 – a good year for Chevrolet and me – I was 8, playing Little League and having’ fun!

Context:  The Lord’s Supper

Scripture:  While they were eating, Jesus took bread, gave thanks, broke it, and gave it to His disciples saying, “Take it, for this is my body.”  Afterward, He took the cup, gave thanks, offered it to them, and they all drank from it.  Then He said to them, “This is My blood of the covenant, poured out for many.  I solemnly declare that I will not drink again of the fruit of the vine until that day when I drink it anew in the kingdom of God.”  Then they sang a hymn and went out to the Mount of Olives.  Mark 14:22-26

Thoughts/questions:  Wouldn’t you love to know what the hymn was that Jesus and His disciples sang?  It probably was a traditional Jewish Passover song!  For some reason, I had never thought about Jesus actually singing, but He surely did!  I’ve always looked forward to my new heavenly singing voice, but now I also look forward to a special singing partner!!!

The Lord’s Supper – such a meaningful part of being a Christ follower!  A special occasion to remember Jesus and what He did for us!  There are so many aspects of Christ’s life to focus on during communion, but my attention usually goes to the Passion Week and the various occurrences associated with it.  When communion is over, my heart is filled with gratitude and praise.

We all should take time to consider Christ daily, but especially when we remember His body given for us, and His blood shed for us.  Thank You, Jesus!!!

Suggested Prayer:  Jesus, let me be willing like You were willing . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

