Posted by: Larry Hoekman | April 21, 2015

Words in Red – He’s with me!

Day 1960: May we all be a blessing to someone today!

Context:  Jesus was responding to being arrested in the Garden of Gethsemane.

Scripture:  Jesus asked them, “Am I leading a rebellion that you have come out with swords and clubs to capture Me?  I was with you every day teaching in the temple, and you did not arrest Me, but these things are happening to fulfill what the Scriptures say about Me.”  Mark 14:48, 49

Thoughts/questions:  It is very difficult to project what type of conversations we might have with Jesus when in heaven.  If this one would ever take place, it would be far better to have it now than in heaven when we can’t do anything about it.

Jesus – “I was with you every day of your life.”

Us – “I know and it helped me very much.”

Jesus – “The way I remember it, you did not acknowledge me that much.”

Us – “Yeah, I did get kind of busy with family, work, recreation, TV and such.”

Jesus – “I wanted to get your attention, but you know that ‘free will’ thing.”

Us – “Yeah, well, uh . . .”

Jesus – “Our relationship could have been so much more – I was with you when you struggled and tried to do it all by yourself.  I was with you when all of your time was focused on yourself.  I was with you when you chose to sin.  I was with you when you couldn’t sleep, but you didn’t know I was there.  I was with you when you grieved alone.  I was with you when you thought that I was far away.  I was with you when you knew it and when you didn’t.  I was with you ALWAYS – where were you???”

Suggested Prayer:  Lord Jesus, help me to be there for You like You are for me . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

