Posted by: Larry Hoekman | April 23, 2015

Words in Red – Who’s #1?

Day 1961:  Oops, got my dates mixed up and posted this today instead of yesterday – getting’ old . . .

Context:  Jesus had been silent before the religious accusers, but now responded.  Then He did the same with Pilate, the political ruler.

Scripture:    Again the high priest asked Him, “Are You the Christ, the Son of the Blessed One?”  Jesus said, “I am!  And you will see the Son of Man sitting at God’s right hand in the place of power and coming back in the clouds of heaven!”    Pilate asked Jesus, “Are You the King of the Jews?”  Jesus replied, “Yes, it is as you say.” Mark 14:61b, 62; 15:2

Thoughts/questions:  During this time of questioning by religious and political rulers, Jesus said very little and Mark only shares some of what He said, so these chosen words are important!

To God, it is VITAL that we understand and acknowledge His position in the world.  The very first words of His commandments were, “I am the Lord your God . . . you are to have NO other gods before me.”  Often when Jesus was confronted with certain questions, He remained silent, but when asked about this, He had to respond.  “I am!” – the Christ, God’s Son. (and it’s not over – I’ll be back!!!!)  And later, yes, I am the King of the Jews!

This is not an in your face or I’ll show you who’s boss kind of a thing.  No, it is the living God, Creator of the universe, our only Savior, and our King who simply states that as a bare minimum, we are to recognize who He truly is.

If you’re a parent, at some time you have had to resort to something like this – ‘look, I’m the parent and this IS just how it is.’  God does the same thing with His children! A good mantra to start each day – You ARE God; I am not!

Suggested Prayer:  Father God, I acknowledge who You are.  Help my life to reflect just that . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

