Posted by: Larry Hoekman | April 28, 2015

Fruit of the Spirit – God’s Love!

Day 1964: SO SORRY!!! For the last two days I have been computerless (long story) so haven’t posted anything new – first time in 5 and a half years. Anyway, we’re back. And with today’s post being on love as the first Fruit of the Spirit – you’ll have to love me anyway!!!!

Scripture:  God demonstrated His love towards me in that even though I was a sinner, Christ died for me.  Romans 5:8    God is love.  I John 4:8b    God so loved me that He sent His only Son, Jesus, to die for me, so that if I believe on Him, I will not perish, but will have everlasting life.  John 3:16

Thoughts/questions:   No one knows for sure just when God’s love towards us began, but it could have begun no later than when He chose to give His creation free will.  It was at that point that we definitely needed His infinite love, and each one of us has proven that necessity daily.  But what manner of love would He bestow upon us?  Would it be conditional and inconsistent?  Would it only put up with so much and then stop?  No!  Later we will expand on this as the English language translates 3 Greek words as love.  God’s love is ‘agape’ in Greek meaning unconditional.

His love became:  one without equal; a sacrificial love which gave the greatest sacrifice ever, His guiltless Son; an extension of His being, not something He would attempt to conjure up when we earned it; a love which gave even before the receiver warranted it; a love we can accept and then mirror in our lives, but cannot be generated by ourselves; a love which has no end . . .

‘Jesus loves me this I know, for the Bible tells me so.  Little ones to Him belong; they are weak, but He is strong.  Yes Jesus loves me, YES, Jesus loves me, YES, Jesus LOVES me . . .’   And as the plaque states, ‘I asked Jesus how much He loved me?  He answered, “this much.”  Then He stretched out His arms and died for me.’

Suggested prayer: Father God, You didn’t have to love me.  Thank You for loving me despite me being me and showing me how to truly love . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

