Posted by: Larry Hoekman | May 4, 2015

Fruit of the Spirit — A God of Joy!

Day 1969: Filled with joy to hear recent good news about Eric (God2me readers have prayed for him and his cancer is gone!!!) and my pastor, Ron, who has been fighting cancer for a long time and recently received some good news!!!

Scripture: God rejoices over me with shouts of joy!  Zephaniah 3:17b  I should not be grieved, for the joy of the Lord is my strength  Nehemiah 8:10b  Jesus spoke these things so that His joy would be in me and that my joy might be made full.  John 15:11 Jesus tells me that there is great joy in the presence of angels when a sinner repents.  Luke 15:10

Thoughts/questions:  Heaven is full of JOY!!! God gives us joy because He is joyful!  The angels have joy when we turn from our sin and repent. God rejoices in us!!  Jesus wanted His joy to fill us.  God’s JOY truly is about Jesus, Others, and You.

Jesus:  In my earthly family, we recently welcomed someone we hadn’t really known into the family! (long story)  When we found out, some danced, some quietly shared their excitement, but ALL of us REJOICED.  The angels have this joy daily as each day the family of God around the world adds Christ followers!!  Our God experiences joy every day!!!

Others:  Philippians 2:3b states that I should consider others as more important than myself.  Being considerate has seemed to go out of style.  When you are with people, do you need to be the focal point or do you attend to the needs of others?  God is joyful when we are considerate.

You:  God rejoices over me with shouts of joy!  We are God’s creation and He takes great joy in us!  My wife and I recently completed a total remodel of a home and 2 acres.  We look back with satisfaction at what we’ve been able to accomplish.  But our joy pales in comparison to God’s joy in His finest creation – you!

Suggested prayer:  Father, thank You for being a God of joy.  Help me make my priorities Jesus, others, and then me; so that my joy might be made full . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

