Posted by: Larry Hoekman | May 9, 2015

Fruit of the Spirit — Finding Peace!

Day 1974: May you be a blessing to those you encounter today!

Scripture:  And the peace of God, which surpasses all human understanding, will guard my heart and my mind as I live in Christ. Philippians 4:7  Lord, You will keep me in perfect peace when my mind is focused on You, because I trust You.  Isaiah 26:3

Thoughts/questions:  The human understanding of peace according to the dictionary is ‘freedom from conflict/war’, but Jesus gives us a different peace – peace within the conflict!  He states, “My peace I give you.” Jesus’ life was certainly filled with stressful situations culminating in the crucifixion (think Passion of the Christ), yet He remained at peace.  It wasn’t easy for Him as He had to pray 3 times, ‘Not my will, but thine be done’ before facing the scourge and the cross.  So, it won’t be easy for us either.

History has proven that corporate humanity cannot live without conflict.  Individually, it might appear that we have a semblance of control/security and then – crash goes the market/car/relationship, etc. and peace can’t be found.  Whereas, God’s nature is peace and when we allow His nature to be infused into our personality, we will exhibit peace in every situation.

I believe the following will help each one of us gain His peace!  Daily tell God EVERYTHING; sincerely request that His will be done; be thankful that God will answer in your best interest; trust that the living God of the universe’s artistry is painting a beautiful picture of your life using every detail of it; as today’s verses state – engage your mind and heart by faith as you mentally and emotionally submit your life completely to Him; and when doubts and worries seek to destroy His peace infused into you – repeat the above!

Despite our doubts and fears when the storms rage and waves crash all about us, CAN we trust Him and be at peace?  My prayer is that we all will.

Suggested prayer:  Lord, finding peace is hard for me.  Help me to be one with You and submit to Your love every day . . . 

Leave a Reply

Categories

