Posted by: Larry Hoekman | May 13, 2015

Fruit of the Spirit — More Patience!

Day 1977: More on patience – a tough fruit to grow . . .

Scripture:  When I think that I am really something when I am actually nothing, I am deceiving myself.  Galatians 6:3   Joseph speaking to his treacherous brothers – As for you, you intended to harm me, but God intended it for good to accomplish this present result . . .  Genesis 50:20a 

Thoughts/questions:  For me, being patient with others is easier than being patient with myself.  My expectations of myself are higher than I put on others – do everything correctly, get a hit every time, always be on top of things, never make a mistake – you get the idea.  However, Galatians tells me that I must accurately evaluate who I am, and I cannot ever accomplish my unrealistic expectations.  I often focus on the results instead of the process.  For example, I should be satisfied trying my best in softball, but I lose patience with myself as soon as I make an error or don’t get a hit.  I am more patient with my teammates and actually try to encourage them.  God wants me to be patient with myself as well – I AM something to Him and I should always try to do my best in every situation, but then I must extend His patience to me!

PBPGINFWMY – a 70’s pin I once had which stood for Please Be Patient, God Is Not Finished With Me Yet.  Rather than asking others to do this, I need to be patient with myself and trust God to continually bring about positive changes in my life!

Joseph was an example of being patient through a number of major problems and in the end; he knew that God had was there each step of the way for good to accomplish this present result.  He now knew what the ‘present result’ was, but during his troubles, he was patient, trusting the living God of the Universe to take care of him!

I know we can be more patient with ourselves and during trying times.  Let’s pray for His patience to be manifested in us!

Suggested prayer:  Almighty God, I look to You to give me patience.  Thank You for being patient with me . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

