Posted by: Larry Hoekman | May 19, 2015

Fruit of the Spirit — Well Done!

Day 1983: Do all the good you can to all the people you can!

Scripture:  Jesus taught that I should love the Lord my God with all of my heart, all of my soul, and all of my mind, and that I should also love my neighbor as myself!  Matthew 22:37,39b   Jesus taught that if I love Him, I should keep His commandments.  John 14:15

Thoughts/questions:  Jesus is very straight forward in teaching us what He expects from us. He even called the words He spoke in Matthew the first and greatest commandment, and also that the second one is equal to the first!  No questioning their importance.  Then, in John’s verse, Jesus adds that we should be obedient out of love for Him.  Again, very direct.

‘Good boy’, ‘good dog’, or ‘good job’ – these are all commonly used phrases, which ackowledge that the responder was doing what they were supposed to – that is good!  Two things had to have happened when you hear those type of phrases.  1) One had to know what was required of them, and 2) they had to do it well!  Jesus made the first part very clear; the second part is up to us.

The ultimate ‘good job’ from God happens when we get to heaven, and He welcomes us with, “Well done, you have been a good and faithful servant.”  We are good and faithful servants when we do ‘good’ by first obeying these 2 commandments – Love God above all!  Love your neighbor as yourself!  Obeying these will enable us to take our focus off of ourselves and put it where it should be – God and others!  Then we will live a life of goodness that exhibits the very nature of God!  You may like your steak ‘medium rare’, but God likes your life – ‘WELL DONE!’

Suggested prayer:  Lord, I am humbled that You desire me to love You and then for me to love others.  Help me to obey these words of Your Son, Jesus . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

