Posted by: Larry Hoekman | May 27, 2015

Fruit of the Spirit — Singular Purpose!

Day 1191: Let this day’s devotion help us begin a life of increasing self-control!

Scripture:  Knowing God enables me to have self-control.  My self-control will lead to patience, which leads to godliness.  Godliness will enable me to have brotherly kindness and then love.  II Peter 1:6,7    I must prepare my mind for action and exercise self-control.  My hope should rest completely on the grace to be given to me at the revelation of Jesus Christ.  I Peter 1:13

Thoughts/questions:  Our ability to exhibit self-control is directly related to our singularity of purpose regarding our relationship with God.  Self-control is really having enough control of our will to be able to yield that will to the living God!  Those somewhat difficult statements are exemplified by Jesus’ self-control in yesterday’s God2me.

Purpose – when a clear purpose is determined, decision making is much easier. Does the chosen decision relate to the purpose?  Yes, do it.  No, don’t.  Jesus clearly had a singular purpose when He faced His trial, scourging, and death on the cross – to take the punishment for our sins upon Himself. With that singular purpose clearly in mind, He was able to control Himself throughout His entire ordeal.

Sometimes purpose gets outweighed by the price we have to pay, so we stop.  ‘I’ve had enough’ would be a sample response of going through too much to continue.  Jesus knew He was going to go through the biggest challenge of His life, so He had to completely give His will over to His Father’s as He declared, “Not my will, but Thine be done.”  It took the Son of God THREE times of praying that prayer before He was able to demonstrate self-control during the horrific events that soon happened to Him.

Have you determined that your relationship with God is the ONE overriding purpose in your life?  Are you willing to submit your will to the will of the Father?  If so, self-control will characterize your life as it did with Jesus.  I trust that we all can answer yes to those two questions!

Suggested prayer:  Father, I really want what You have for me.  Not my will, but Thine be done . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

