Posted by: Larry Hoekman | June 2, 2015

James 1:21-27 –True Christianity!

Day 1196: Our continued focus for the next while will be reading/applying God’s word directly! My desire is that you slowly read these small portions of James and meditate on them as the Holy Spirit teaches you!

James 1

Scripture: Therefore, I should put aside all filthiness and wickedness in my life and humbly take in God’s word, which is able to save my soul.  These words must be obeyed and not just listened to.  For if I am only a listener and do not obey, it is similar to looking in a mirror; and as soon as I walk away, I immediately forget what I look like.  But if I gaze intently on God’s perfect law of liberty and truly live it; I won’t forget, as I will do what it says.  God will then greatly bless me in everything I do!

If I say that I am a follower of Christ, but I can’t control my tongue, my religion isn’t worth much. God’s idea of true Christianity is taking care of orphans and widows and remaining true to Him – without being stained by the world.

Suggested Prayer: Father God, help me to be obedient to Your word, not just a reader of it. And may I always seek to help those in need . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

