Posted by: Larry Hoekman | June 3, 2015

James 2:1-9 — Any Favorites?

Day 1197: My wife’s last day of work today – we’ll both be retired now!!! God2me continues our readings in the first person paraphrase of the important book of James!

James 2

As a believer in my glorious Lord Jesus Christ, I must not show any favoritism.  For example, two people come to my church and one is dressed nicely and is wearing expensive jewelry, while the other is a poor person wearing shabby clothes.  If I pay special attention to the rich person and seat them in the best place but tell the poor person that he could stand or else sit on the floor, haven’t I then made distinctions based on evil motives?

I need to understand the fact that God has chosen poor people to be rich in faith and heirs to the kingdom which He promised to those who love Him.  And yet I insulted the poor man.  I should realize that it is usually the rich who would exploit me and drag me into court and slander the name of Jesus Christ, to whom I belong.  I am doing well when I obey our Lord’s command, “I must love my neighbor as myself.”  But if I show favoritism, I am breaking God’s law and committing sin.

Suggested prayer: Dear Lord, help me to treat everyone You’ve created the same without any partiality . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

