Posted by: Larry Hoekman | June 10, 2015

James 3:9-12 — Consistency!

Day 2004: Paul writes how he wants to do one thing and then does another. Let’s try to have this NOT be said regarding our tongue!

Scripture: Sometimes my tongue will praise and bless our Lord and Father, and at other times it will curse men who are made in His image.  My mouth produces both blessing and cursing; I should not speak this way.  After all, does a spring send forth both fresh and bitter water?  Can a fig tree produce olives, or a grape vine produce figs?  No, and neither can salt water produce fresh.

Suggested prayer: Sovereign God, I don’t want my tongue make me appear like a hypocrite. Help me to be consistent in the use of my words towards You and towards others . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

