Posted by: Larry Hoekman | July 11, 2015

Daily Readings — I-itis!?

Day 2033: Have a super Saturday!

Scripture: Then Jesus said to His disciples, “Whoever wants to be My disciple must deny themselves and take up their cross and follow Me. Matthew 16:24

Thoughts/questions: Some say the word spoken most often in the English language is the word, I. My research had it at #20 – still very high! Many illnesses are named w/an ‘itis’ – bronchitis, tonsillitis, appendicitis – the list goes on. You can add another potentially deadly disease to that – I-itis!

To find out if you or someone you know has it, merely listen to them (or yourself) talk. Some can’t speak much without it. I did this, I said such and such, I feel, I am . . .  This list also goes on!

Jesus’ teaching is contrary to this disease. He tells us to deny self. In other scriptures we are to focus on serving others, not ourselves. I-itis IS a problem. It is such a problem that some people’s favorite verse is I Me 1:1! Seriously, check your speech; check your thoughts, and check your heart – If I-itis is currently a spiritual disease residing in you, humble yourself and put God on the throne of you heart and life!

Christ followers must rid themselves of any trace of this self-focused disease! Now is the time!

Suggested prayer: Father God, may I daily die to self and live unto You . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

