Posted by: Larry Hoekman | July 20, 2015

Daily Readings — Perspective . . .

Day 2041: I really liked yesterday’s post. If you haven’t read it, please do!

Scripture: How do I know what will happen tomorrow?  My life is really just like a mist of fog that appears for a little while and then vanishes away. Instead, I will depend on God and say, “If the Lord wants me to, I will live and do this or that.  Otherwise, it would be bragging and boasting, and such self-confidence never pleases God. James 4:14,15

Thoughts/questions: At a family gathering yesterday I literally watched diapers being changed on a 4 month old and a 93 yr. old. Truly amazing how life begins and often ends.

To the point! If you are standing, walking, taking care of your bathroom needs, talking, eating on your own, dressing yourself – BE THANKFUL!!!

Walking around the skilled nursing area and seeing everyone, and then talking to an ex high school teammate whom I threw touchdown passes to – who was living IN the skilled nursing area due to strokes, I at first became melancholy and somewhat depressed. I could be here . . .  I may eventually end up here . . .

BUT, today I am THANKFUL! Join me!

Suggested prayer: Father God, help me to enjoy the blessings of today and take no thought for tomorrow . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

