Posted by: Larry Hoekman | July 21, 2015

Daily Readings — Willing?

Day 2042: CA gets some much needed rain and a major freeway route loses a bridge – it AIN’T heaven yet . . .

Scripture: But He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for My power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong!

Thoughts/questions: Being a Christ follower goes against so much of the world’s input. These verses are case in point – as a coach, my teams always tried to maximize our strengths and minimize our weaknesses, while doing the reverse to the other team. As a person, I’ve tried to do the same.

However, the Lord spoke to Paul in from with a completely differing viewpoint, and at first glance, I don’t like it. Delight in weakness – I don’t think so!

Yet, who are we trying to please, lift up, bring recognition to??? Self w/pride or Jesus w/humility. This can be a daily battle. We want Christ’s power resting on us, but boasting in weakness – not a natural way to live!

Become strong! Be willing to truly follow Jesus! His power is far greater than ours anyway!

Suggested prayer: Jesus, help me to die to self; agree with Your word; and help me to humble myself in Your sight, so that You will lift me up!


Leave a Reply

Categories

