Posted by: Larry Hoekman | July 26, 2015

Daily Readings — Couples only!

Day 2047: Sunday funday? Sunday worship day? Sunday rest day? Lots of options! God knows we need rest, so make sure you get that rest!!!

Scripture/thoughts/questions: I’ve been doing a lot of weddings recently and each couple has used I Corinthians 13 as a vow of their love to their spouse. What a standard for us to live by!

Today’s focus is for married couples! Are you really loving your spouse anyway near the demands set for you in this ‘love’ chapter? I will be very patient and kind – Are you? I will never be jealous or envious – ?? I will never be prideful, selfish, or rude – doing any of these? I will not demand my own way – my way or the hiway?

I will never be irritable or touchy – a little sensitive sometimes? I will never be boastful or proud – how’s self doing? I will not hold grudges – bringing up the past much? I will not notice if you do wrong things to me – pretty tough one! I will always trust you – might be doing this! And I will persevere to the end – you’ve made it this far, but are you planning to persevere to the end? I Corinthians 13:4-6

God has set the bar high and it is probably unreachable to achieve this perfectly; however spouses, we are to continually move towards loving our spouses in this fashion! Reread these verse; take them seriously; love your spouse!

Suggested prayer: Father God, I need your help! Give me the will to love my spouse the way You’ve asked me to do . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

