Posted by: Larry Hoekman | July 27, 2015

Daily Readings — How Then Shall I Live?

Day 2048: Another Monday means we’ve been blessed with another day!!! Be thankful!

Scripture: For if we live, we live for the Lord, or if we die, we die for the Lord; therefore whether we live or die, we are the Lord’s. Romans 14:8

Thoughts/questions: Today’s verse pretty much covers everything – whether alive or dead. Let’s focus on the alive part!

Every day things happen. Good things, bad things, somewhat neutral things. Sometimes we take things too seriously, or get defensive, of take them too personally. Maybe we can make our responses to the ‘things’ of life a bit easier!

When ANYTHING happens let’s do 2 things: 1) Always remember we ARE the Lord’s! He gives us our worth, our value, our purpose in life, and our eternal destiny. Those will NEVER change! We are the Lord’s now and for eternity!

2) Always respond to those ‘things’ with this question: “How then shall I live?” No matter what happens we can consider it life’s feedback, and now that this ‘thing’ has happened to me, What is the appropriate response? What would the Spirit of the living God residing within me do? What attitude should I have? What words should I speak? All of those questions summarized in “How then shall I live?”

Life happens; we are to move forward not backward; we are to press on! I am the Lord’s! Whatever happens, I will decide how to respond and persevere!

Suggested prayer: Heavenly Father, help me to forget what has happened in the past; to reach forward to what You have for me in the future; and to press on . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

