Posted by: Larry Hoekman | August 3, 2015

Daily Readings — Yes, Every Morning!

Day 2055: Mondays can be tough. Let God’s presence be infused within you today, and His love and peace will flow through you . . .

Scripture: Because of the Lord’s mercy, we are not consumed; because He does not fail in daily extending mercy to us. His mercies are new every morning; great is Your faithfulness.

Thoughts/questions: Springer or creeper??? Some creep out of bed and depend on time or coffee or both to get them going. Others, like me, pretty much are ready to go as soon as the Lord says good morning!

Regardless, we all face the same thing as we awaken – a loving God who is NOT going to give us what we deserve. After our ‘activities’ and ‘thought life’ from the day before, God could wake us up and state, ‘we need to review yesterday before we get started today. Here’s your appropriate punishment/reward for your yesterday.’

He doesn’t! As today’s verses state, He doesn’t ‘consume’ us. No, we don’t get what we deserve. Instead His mercies are new every morning!!!

A clean slate; a new start; sins removed as far as the east is from the west; EVERY day!

Our response? ‘Cool, now I can do whatever and tomorrow will be a brand new day!’ or ‘today’s suggested prayer?’ Suggested prayer: Thank You Jesus for my morning! For waking me, for loving me, for giving me mercy instead of what I deserve! I’m humbled by Your great love and mercy. May I daily live empowered by Your Spirit recognizing You as my Lord and Savior . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

