Posted by: Larry Hoekman | September 2, 2015

Daily Readings — Amazing Love!

Day 2163: Into September already – Wow!

Scripture: (Jesus speaking) But I say to you, love your enemies and pray for those persecuting you!  Matthew 5:44

Thoughts/questions: What a revolutionary Jesus was in making statements like this, and what an example to us are those who are living this out on a daily basis.

In Sudan, the above is real! A quote from Pastor Morris out of the Voice of the Martyrs September magazine: He is responding to his son who challenges him regarding his bringing food to those who are bombing them. “My son, this is because Jesus says we have to love our enemies. Even if they are killing us, we have to love them.”

He, like me, states this in regards to the loss of life of the young and infants, “They die and you really feel sorrow. I am very troubled, actually.”

Does the plight of your persecuted brothers and sisters in Christ ‘trouble’ you? Do you really feel sorrow? Can you love like this?

If I truly love my brothers, I will pray for them. If I truly listen to Jesus words, I will also love my/their enemies/persecutors and pray for them as well. Join me!

Suggested prayer: Lord Jesus, I am deeply troubled. Help my brothers and sisters as they endure never ending persecution and may those who persecute them realize the error of their ways and come to know You . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

