Posted by: Larry Hoekman | September 6, 2015

Daily Readings — Part of Each Other!

Day 2167: Prayers welcomed today as we seek to minister to a grieving mother.

Scripture: For as in one body we have many members, and the members do not all have the same function, so we, though many, are one body in Christ and individually members of one another  Romans 12:4, 5

Thoughts/questions:  That we are a part or members of Christ’s body, the church, was always kind of a given. But that we are individually members of one another really hit me.

Some Christ followers are big in the body of Christ, i.e. hands/feet/eyes, whereas, most of us play smaller roles. So is this to be similar to our role in the lives of fellow Christ followers? Apparently, YES! Sometimes we may be a minor member of their walk with Christ, and at other times, we may be their spiritual eyes, or hands, or maybe feet as we assist their individual spiritual ‘body’.

A new perspective for me! I must not let my fellow believer down. I am a member of their spiritual body and must take that role seriously regardless if it is a small role or a larger one! May we all consider ourselves a part of our brothers and sisters and take our responsibility to heart, as we are called to do!

Suggested prayer: Lord, not only am I part of Your family, I am also part of each of my brothers and sisters’ lives. May I always be the person You want me to be in their spiritual journey . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

