Posted by: Larry Hoekman | September 11, 2015

Daily Readings — Our Turn Tomorrow?

Day 2172: Always time to TGIF because we should always Thank God I’m Forgiven!

Scripture: Indeed, all who desire to live a godly life in Christ Jesus will be persecuted II Timothy 3:12  I should not be surprised when I go through fiery trials which test me, as if something strange was happening to me.  Instead, I should be rejoicing as I am sharing in the sufferings of Christ. I Peter 4:12, 13a

Thoughts/questions: A few years back I watched friends of ours in Greece interact with refugees. Leaving your home country because of ‘any’ reason would be a heart wrenching experience.

Lately, there have been multiple photos of the plight of current refugees. Motivated by fear, they run using whatever method of cramped transportation they can muster. The pictures were disconcerting to say the least.

Yet, some day soon this experience may characterize Christ followers around the world, not just in the Middle East and parts of Africa. Seeking asylum, cramming on ships, carrying wounded, mourning loss, sorrowing . . .

It probably won’t happen tomorrow, but it could easily happen all too soon. It might be a good idea to memorize today’s verses!

Suggested prayer: Lord, I love to rejoice in what You have done in my life. Help prepare me to suffer . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

