Posted by: Larry Hoekman | September 14, 2015

Personal Sharing — Always Be Ready!

Day 2175: Make your Monday Matter!!!

Scripture: But in my heart I should sanctify Christ as Lord, and always be prepared to give an answer to anyone who asks me to give the reason for my hope.  My answer should be given with gentleness and respect. I Peter 3:15

Thoughts/questions: At a wedding I officiated on Saturday, I had a unique experience. Before the reception, I was waiting for the matron of honor to sign the marriage license, but she was nowhere to be found.

I sat at a table where a man sat by himself and we started talking about my status to marry and what my actual connection to the wedding party was. I had shared that my career choice had been altered in my youth by my temper, and I had eliminated teaching/coaching because of it. Then I told him that as I got older my temper reduced, and he asked me how that happened.

I decided to be direct and give an answer to anyone who asks me to give the reason . . .  So, then I shared how I changed greatly when I received Christ into my life. I thought that would be it, but he continually asked more probing questions to the point that I shared with him my entire testimony.

I then asked him what he thought of what I said and he said that he really didn’t think much about that stuff. I challenged him to do so, he shared his career as an entrepreneur, and then the awaited matron of honor came and that was the end of our conversation.

These type of conversations are somewhat rare, but we all must be ready when they come! Have your testimony ready! Be willing to share! And let God open the doors for you to speak of what He’s done in your life!!!

Suggested prayer: Lord Almighty, I pray for this man to seek after truth and may he find You . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

