Posted by: Larry Hoekman | September 17, 2015

Daily Readings — Help!

Day 2178: On the way to Idaho as we celebrate retirement with a vacation (and I get to do a grand parenting seminar in Oregon!!!)

Scripture:  And Jesus said to him, “‘If you can’! All things are possible for one who believes.” Immediately the father of the child cried out and said, “I believe; help my unbelief!” Mark 9:23, 24

Thoughts/questions:  Initially, reading Jesus comment to the father of the demon possessed boy, one could come away with – All I have to do is believe and I can to anything!

However, this father had wisdom. Probably the wisdom gained from dealing with the ups and downs of a precious son who from childhood would have demonic attacks, foam at the mouth, and be seemingly hurled into the water or into a fire.

Had he been able to do ‘anything’ he certainly would have prayed away or believed away his son’s affliction. Imagine how many times he struggled to do just that, but was helpless in his own power. He couldn’t ‘believe’ enough to make it happen and his confession rings true to me, “I believe, help my unbelief.”

We can’t do everything; we don’t have what it takes; but within God’s perfect plan for our lives, we can do FAR more than we ever thought! Believe this with everything you have – The Living God of the universe has partnered with you to live in His power and accomplish whatever tasks He has before you, whether they be big or small!!!

Suggested prayer: Lord Jesus, I want to believe completely and experience all you have for me to be and to do. Help my unbelief . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

