Posted by: Larry Hoekman | September 27, 2015

Coach Wooden — A committed life!

Day 2188:  Today will end reflections from Coach John Wooden with correlating Bible verses. I’m sorry this was late, no computer access where we were staying last night . . .

Scripture:  Jesus taught me, “I am to love the Lord, my God with all of my heart, all of my soul, and all of my mind!  This is the first and greatest commandment, and the second is equally important, as I am to love my neighbor as myself.”   Matthew 22:37-39

Thoughts/questions:  Coach Wooden was a daily Bible reader and committed Christ follower, and we can learn a lot from this man who surrendered his life to Christ completely.  The above verses were the ones he chose to be used at his funeral and really prioritize how our lives should be lived.  This poem he personally wrote summarizes his life and challenges us in our walk with God!

The years have left their imprint

On my hands and on my face.

Erect no longer is my walk

And slower is my pace.

But there is no fear within my heart

Because I’m growing old.

I only wish I had more time

To better serve my Lord.

When I’ve gone to Him in prayer,

He has brought me inner peace.

And soon my cares and worries

And other problems cease

He has helped in so many ways;

He has never let me down.

Why should I fear the future

When soon I could be near His crown.

Though I know down here my time is short,

There is endless time up there.

And He will forgive and keep me

Forever in His loving care.

May I not waste an hour

That’s left to glorify the Name

Of the One Who died that we might live

And for our sins, took all the blame.

Thank you Coach for showing us an example of living completely for God.  May we all do the same!

Suggested prayer:  Lord Jesus, thank You for changing my life in the past, for giving me purpose for today, and for bringing me hope for the future . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

