Posted by: Larry Hoekman | October 1, 2015

Daily Readings — Everyone Has a Story!!!

Day 2192: His grace is sufficient!

Scripture: Jesus speaking, “So everyone who acknowledges Me before men, I also will acknowledge before My Father who is in heaven.” Matthew 10:32

Thoughts/questions: Those of us who follow Jesus ALL have their own unique story which I love to hear. Here is a brief synopsis of mine.

Church going family, memorized many Catechism sections, hot temper, always outside playing something. Then in junior high I went to summer camp where the speaker, Steve Struiksma, shared verbally what we now know as Passion Week. Upon hearing about this, primarily Him being scourged, I raised my finger skyward when we were asked who wanted to follow Jesus!

Excited for awhile, then I got caught up into high school ‘stuff.’ My sister was saved and one time said, “I know I’m going to heaven!” I questioned that and stated something like no one knows, you just try to be good and see what happens. Later, I was challenged by Jehovah Witnesses at my door, and they undermined my intellectual knowledge of the Bible.

Then the day came when I decided to no longer wish I was home watching the Rams play on Sunday morning rather than be in church. I’d quit going to church. That decision was made on Sunday, but I was going to go one last time – with Linda that Sunday night.

It was at that time the Lord part of ‘Lord and Savior’ took hold. The pastor spoke directly to me, and that started a change that has continued to this very day!

What’s your story???

Suggested prayer: Father God, thank You for loving me so much . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

