Posted by: Larry Hoekman | October 7, 2015

Daily Readings — Holy?

Day 2198: There are SO many hard things going on in people’s lives. If you are currently void of those, be truly thankful!

Scripture: Before the foundation of the world, God chose me in Him to be holy and blameless in His sight. Ephesians 1:4  But just as He who called me is holy, so I am to be holy in all that I do, because it is written, “You shall be holy, for I am holy.” I Peter 1:16

Thoughts/questions: But I I don’t feel or act very holy, so have I fallen short??? Am I not good enough? Could I ever even be holy?

The answer to all three is, Yes! We do fall short of holiness. We will never be holy enough. But we still can be holy!!! Let me make sense of these answers/statements.

When I Peter states that we shall be holy, for Jesus is holy, it is not a comparison. It is not that we are to attain the same standard of behavior Jesus achieved.  His life is infused in us, and ours are hidden in Him – therefore, although we don’t live perfectly holy lives, because of Him we ARE holy to Him! It is simply this – because Jesus IS holy, we ARE holy.

Enjoy your position of being holy while seeking to live a holy life!

Suggested prayer: Dear Jesus, without You I could never achieve holiness and You gave me this precious gift! Thank You . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

