Posted by: Larry Hoekman | October 15, 2015

Biblical Phrases — Jesus Is Lord!

Day 2206: The world shakes and trembles, but God holds us close . . .

Scripture: For if I confess with my mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe with my heart that God raised Him from the dead, then I shall be saved!  Romans 10:9

Thoughts/questions: Those who believe heaven exists pretty much want to go there. And believing that Jesus took on the role as their ticket to get in is easy. However, there are two problems with that approach in this verse alone!

1) This belief is to be with the heart, not just a mental acknowledgement of a truth! When the relational heart believes, things happen! If one states, “I believe in X with all of my heart.” then others would definitely expect something in that person’s life to change in regards to X! Belief with my heart implies commitment!

2) There are two conditions in this verse. The above and confessing that Jesus is Lord. Not merely Savior, but Lord as well! Now we are placing our confidence in Him, relying on Him, and trusting Him! It’s not ‘my life plus Jesus’ but it’s ‘Jesus is my life!’

To merely give mental credence to Jesus as Savior is not what the Bible requires. Jesus is Lord and we are to embrace that truth with all of our heart!

Suggested prayer: Dear Jesus, I commit my life to You as my Savior and Lord . . .


Leave a Reply

Categories

