Posted by: Larry Hoekman | October 29, 2015

I Peter 1:1-3 — More and More!!!

Day 2220: Today we begin devotionals based on I Peter. There is so much here regarding the purpose and potential of suffering and so much more! I trust you will be blessed by the wisdom found in I Peter!

Scripture:  Peter, an apostle of Jesus Christ, is writing this letter to me and to those who are living as foreigners in Pontus, Galatia, Cappadocia, Asia and Bithynia, who are chosen according to the foreknowledge of God the Father.  By the sanctifying work of the Holy Spirit, I am to obey Jesus Christ and be sprinkled with His blood.  I am to have more and more of His grace and peace.  I give praise to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who in His great mercy has given me new birth into a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead.  I Peter 1:1-3

Thoughts/questions:  Grace, peace, mercy, and new birth are God’s amazing gifts to us.  The Almighty God extends to us His favor even though we don’t deserve it!!!  Peace with God and peace with man – a life of inner and outer calm can be ours!!!  Instead of punishment, we are given mercy – although guilty, we are declared innocent!!!  A rebirth from sin and self to a life in which all things become new!!!  HALLELUJAH!!!

A living hope!  Our hope is not built on a bunch of teachings by a learned master, or on the words of a dead leader, BUT we have a LIVING hope whose name is Jesus Christ!!! Being a Christ follower is SO AWESOME!!!  Spend some time reflecting on all that Jesus brings to you!!!

Suggested prayer:  Jesus, You have given me so much!!!!   I rejoice in knowing You!  I am humbled by Your love!!!  Thank You . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

