Posted by: Larry Hoekman | October 30, 2015

I Peter 1:4-7 — An Imperishable Inheritance!

Day 2221:  I Peter starts with some wonderful promises, yet roses do have their thorns.

Scripture:  I have obtained an inheritance which is imperishable, undefiled, and will not fade away, and it is reserved in heaven for me!  Through faith, I am shielded by God’s power for my salvation, which is ready to be revealed in the last time.  Because of all of this, I greatly rejoice; even though for a little while I may have to suffer and endure trials.  These trialare a test of my faith, which is more precious than gold that perishes.  And even though tested by fire, my faith will result in praise, glory, and honor when Jesus Christ is revealed!  I Peter 1:4-7

Thoughts/questions:  The imperishable and the perishable. Investments, inheritances, nest eggs, stock portfolios – we have witnessed how ‘perishable’ they can be. OUR spiritual inheritance – that’s a different story!!  The reservation has been made, and eventually we WILL inherit our salvation!!!

Faith is foundational to being a Christ follower.  Although I would rather ‘know’ things and be able to logically and rationally understand everything, God chose something that everyone can do – faith; therefore, there is opportunity for everyone.  Our faith brings us salvation, and it is our faith that is tested.

Suffering and enduring trials are not things to look forward to, but when we live a life of faith in Jesus, they will be part of our walk. But the end result – praise, glory, and honor – FOREVER!!!

Suggested prayer:  Father, thank You for my salvation, and help my faith to grow so that I am ready for any trials that may come . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

