Posted by: Larry Hoekman | November 3, 2015

I Peter 121b-25 — Faith, Hope, and Love!

Day 2225:  May the true and living God of the universe bless your day!!!

Scripture:  . . . so that my faith and hope can be placed confidently in God.  Now I can have a sincere love of my brothers and sisters since I have purified my soul by obeying the truth.  So I should fervently love them with all of my heart.  For I have been born again, not physically that leads to death, but spiritually that leads to life eternal based on the living and enduring word of God!  “For I am like grass and all my glory is like the flowers of the field; the grass withers and the flowers fall away, but the word of the Lord will last forever.”  And these words are the Good News that was shared with me. I Peter 1:21b-25

Thoughts/questions:  This order of faith, hope, and love is very important as faith in the true and living God of the universe brings hope to our otherwise temporal lives.  Then we are freed to truly love others as this new life is NOT all about me!

That our watch had a maker – easy to believe.  That the much more complex universe had a Creator – many choose not to believe that.  Billions of diverse people in our world, and we easily believe they ALL came one way (previous to in vitro fertilization).  However, extend that ‘one way’ to our new spiritual birth, and then it is way too narrow-minded and God wouldn’t do that.  Yet He has, as Jesus is “the way, the truth, and the life.”  We are to be born again spiritually by faith to life eternal!!!!

Suggested prayer: Lord, thank You that Your love is strong towards me, in me, and through me . . . 


Leave a Reply

Categories

