Posted by: Larry Hoekman | November 8, 2015

I Peter 2:9-11 — This World is not my Home!

Day 2229:  Trying to share my trip and still post while having intermittent internet!

Scripture:  But Christ followers are a chosen people; a royal priesthood; a holy nation; a people who belong to God.  As such, I am to declare the praises of Him who has called me out of darkness and into His marvelous light.  For at one time I was not part of God’s people, but now I am; once I had not received God’s mercy, but now I have received His mercy.  As a Christ follower, I am a foreigner and stranger in this world; therefore, I am to keep away from evil desires, which wage war against my very soul.    I Peter 2:9-11

Thoughts/questions:  We have been changed!!!  What we were, we no longer are!!! Darkness to light!!!  Without mercy to being bathed in mercy!!!!  Without a people to being one of God’s chosen children!!!  We are a people who belong to God!!!!  Definitely reasons to praise Him!!!  Sometimes we lose the significance of where we are because we tend to forget where we could still be.  Darkness anyone???  Without mercy to pay the price for our sin???  Alone without an eternal family???  Belonging to ???   Maybe thinking about it this way will help you to declare the praises of Him!!!!

A foreigner and stranger in this world – seeing as I’m currently in a foreign country, it always helps when you’ve been told what to avoid before it’s too late.  In this world, we ARE foreigners and need to heed God’s warnings or suffer consequences. I’m listening to the locals here in Korea and China, may I also listen to God in the same manner!

Suggested prayer:  Almighty God, thank You so much for bringing me into Your marvelous light!  Help me to realize that this world is not my home, but that I belong to You . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

