Posted by: Larry Hoekman | November 22, 2015

I Peter 2:15-17 — A Fool?

Day 2226::  May this Sunday find you refreshed physically and spiritually!!! Say a prayer of thanksgiving that you can worship feely!

Scripture:  It is God’s will that by doing right I might silence the ignorance of foolish people.  I am not a slave; I am free.  But I cannot use my freedom as a license to do evil; as I am free so that I can submit myself to God.   I am to show proper respect for everyone; to love my fellow Christ followers; to fear God; and to honor the king.  I Peter 2:15-17

Thoughts/questions:  This first verse sounds rather harsh at first, but not after considering it in light of how Psalms 14:1a describes foolish people – ‘The fool has said in their heart that there is no God.  This verse should not be used to attack atheists as fools as further reading of the rest of Psalm 14 indicates that there is no ‘good’ in any of us.

All humankind needs to fully realize our sinful nature and acknowledge that God is our only hope for redemption, as it is foolish to think we can measure up to a holy God on our own.  By doing right, we may not convince people that salvation comes from a relationship with the living God through Christ, but we will silence their attacks on us as small-minded hypocrites.  Do right!

If you’re ever stuck not knowing God’s will, try this – respect everyone, love Christ followers, fear God, honor the king.  Fill this Sunday living out the words of this verse and you WILL be doing His will!!!

Suggested prayer:  Father God, thank You for the freedom to do right and to submit myself to You.  Help me to do so daily . . . 

Leave a Reply

Categories

