Posted by: Larry Hoekman | November 25, 2015

I Peter 2:24, 25 — Amazing verses!

Day 2237:  Each day I am humbled that YOU are reading this.

Scripture:  Jesus Himself bore my sins in His body on the cross, so that I might die to sin and live to righteousness.  For by His wounds, I have been healed!  Once I was like a sheep gone astray, but now I have returned to the Shepherd and Guardian of my soul.  I Peter 2:24,25

Thoughts/questions: Jesus Himself – Himself!  He didn’t send a substitute or someone by proxy.  No, He came Himself – the One who created the entire expansive universe chose to come Himself!!!  He bore my sins in His body – MY sins, MY sins in His body.  I want my sins far removed from Him, yet He took them upon Himself so I can be free from their penalty – almost too much to comprehend.  On the cross – lots of bad ways to die and this could be one of the worst, but . . .

I have been healed – I believe this is a spiritual healing (after all, we all will eventually die physically, so we aren’t completely healed physically).  By His wounds – those terrible wounds; my resulting spiritual healing makes me ‘right’ before a holy God.

A sheep gone astray – sheep need the most care of all livestock and are totally dependent upon the shepherd.  We’ve gone astray and without help we will not be able to support or defend ourselves.  BUT there is now hope!!!  I have returned to the Shepherd and Guardian of my soul!  By returning to the One who created us, we reestablish our relationship broken by our sin.   We may go astray daily, but we can ALWAYS return!!!

Suggested prayer:  God, You are too much!  I humbly bow before You in amazement, adoration, and thanksgivng . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

